Noob

Noob

Hello! Just joined. I am an avid gardener. I am currently into slow food/soil/crop conservation, black plants, water gardening/pond building, growing grape vines, miniature orchids, miniature plants, plants with animal names, movie named cultivars, creepy plants, and native gardening. Here is something I found in Los Angeles Times that you guys might like. Oops! Forgot to mention that the seed companies are for rare veggies! Seed companies Baker Creek Heirloom Seeds, (417) 924-8917, http://www.rareseeds.com. Rare heirloom vegetables and herbs. Burpee, (800) 333-5808, http://www.burpee.com. The largest seed company in the country; new and classic varieties. Widely available. Evergreen Seeds, (714) 637-5769, http://www.evergreenseeds.com. Asian vegetables and herbs. Seed racks at markets and nurseries in Gardena and San Gabriel areas. Johnny's Selected Seeds, (877) 564-6697, http://www.johnnysseeds.com. Broad range of vegetables and herbs. John Scheepers Kitchen Garden Seeds, (860) 567-6086, http://www.kitchengardenseeds.com. New and heirloom varieties; online recipes from the Chefs Collaborative (www.chefscollaborative.org). Kitazawa Seed Co., (510) 595-1188, http://www.kitazawaseed.com. The oldest Asian seed company in the U.S. At Burkard Nursery, Pasadena; San Gabriel Nursery, San Gabriel; and Moneta Nursery, Gardena. Native Seeds/Search, (866) 622-5561, http://www.nativeseeds.org. A nonprofit that preserves traditional Southwest Native American crops, and native and introduced wild foods. Nichols Garden Nursery, (541) 928-9280; (800) 422-3985. http://www.nicholsgardennursery.com. Eclectic assortment of vegetables and herbs. Renee's Garden Seeds, (888) 880-7228, http://www.reneesgarden.com. California-tested specialty vegetables and herbs. At Orchard Supply and Smith & Hawken stores, Armstrong nurseries and selected local nurseries and public arboretums/botanic gardens. Seeds from Italy, (781) 721-5904, http://www.growitalian.com. (Click on "Seeds from Puglia" for Cetriolo [Carosello] Barese Scopatizzo cucumber.) Traditional Italian vegetables, herbs and flowers. Seeds of Change, (888) 762-7333, http://www.seedsofchange.com. All organic traditional and heirloom vegetable and herb varieties from around the world. At Bellefontaine Nursery, Pasadena; Sperling Nursery, Calabasas; Whole Foods markets. Seed Savers Exchange, (563) 382-5990, http://www.seedsavers.org. A nonprofit organization of gardeners who save and share heirloom seeds. Territorial Seed Co., (800) 626-0866. http://www.territorial-seed.com. Vegetables (many organic), especially for cool, moist climates. Tomato Growers Supply Co., (888) 478-7333, http://www.tomatogrowers.com. 500 varieties of tomatoes; also peppers, tomatillos and eggplants.
That there are some pretty red dots, my tree.

That there are some pretty red dots, my tree.

First time poster!

First time poster!

3…2…1…

3…2…1…

A BIG thankyou

A BIG thankyou

Garden Pic spam – not for the fainthearted or those with dial up…

Garden Pic spam – not for the fainthearted or those with dial up…

Butterfly Tales…

Butterfly Tales…